First Home First Loan Down Payment Assistance

County Executive Ilene Shapiro launched the First Home First Loan Down Payment Assistance Program to help increase the accessibility of homeownership for low-moderate income households in Summit County. 

Applications now open!


For many potential homebuyers, the biggest barrier to homeownership is the down payment and closing costs. The County of Summit Down Payment Assistance (DPA) Program has been designed to assist eligible, low-moderate-income first time homebuyers, that reside within the County of Summit corporate limits, by providing a 3:1 match up to $12,000, as a 0% interest rate deferred loan, due upon sale or transfer of the home, or if the home is no longer used as the primary residence of the applicant. 


County residents purchasing a home in Akron, Cuyahoga Falls and Barberton are not eligible for the program as these cities receive their own funding for similar programs.


The maximum purchase price for a home is $163,000. Single-family homes, condos and townhomes are eligible for the program. Trailers and duplexes are not eligible for the program.


The DPA program has been developed with HOME Investment Partnership (HOME) program funds, provided through the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).  Funds are available on a first come first served basis. 


Examples of 3:1 Match


Buyer's Investment


County Match Amount


First Home First Loan logo