News Release

Date: March 15, 2021







Contact: Klair Heestand Administrator Akron-Summit Council on Holocaust & Genocide Education <u>AkronSummitHolocaustEducation@gmail.com</u> 234-200-6241 Greta Johnson Assistant Chief of Staff Office of Executive Shapiro gjohnson@summitoh.net 330-643-2656

Akron-Summit Council on Holocaust & Genocide Education Host the Akron-Summit Holocaust Commemoration and Awards Ceremony

The Akron-Summit Council on Holocaust & Genocide Education will hold their 33rd annual Akron-Summit Holocaust Commemoration and Awards Ceremony virtually on April 6, 2021 beginning at 6:00 p.m. The ceremony will be hosted by the Akron-Summit County Public Library. This ceremony will commemorate the Holocaust that resulted in the deaths of 6 million Jews and 11 million others, by the Nazi regime and its collaborators and will recognize the students whose work is displayed in the curated show. To register for this virtual event go to AkronSummitHolocaustEducation.org.

This year's event features a panel of three guest speakers. Eva Unterman, Holocaust Survivor, spent most of her childhood in the Lodz Ghetto and forced labor camps. Her and her family were forced to march in the Death March early in 1945. Her family was liberated in May of 1945. Dr. Henry Knight, Professor Emeritus of Holocaust and Genocide Studies and the former Director of the Cohen Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Keene State College. He has received many Outstanding Teacher Awards. Phoebe Unterman is the proud granddaughter of Eva Unterman. In 2018 Phoebe was selected to be part of the German-American Fulbright Commission's Berlin Capital Program for Journalists. The panel will be moderated by University of Akron professor of law, Martin H. Belsky.

The Holocaust Student Collaborative Project, formally the Akron-Summit Holocaust Arts and Writing Contest will display curated student visual art and writing pieces at the Akron-Summit County Main Library from March 23-April 14. All curated pieces can also be found at AkronSummitHolocuastEducation.org. The following is a list of the students whose work was chosen to be part of curated show.

Miller South School of the Visual and Performing Arts, Instructor, Malia Tschantz

Helen Bryson Ayla Gerber Morgan Homoki Daniel Hyter Mabel Jennings Megan Kalial Mary Manahan Milana Martin Andreas Varner Waltz

The Lippman School, Instructor Katie Markey

Jason Chestnut Stephen Kraus Isaac Levin Brian Lilly Oliver Martin Sydney Myers Ryleigh Westcott

Mogadore High School, Instructor, Matthew Beresh

Seth Baglia Savannah Colebank Katie Gardner Tristan Welcome

Copley- Fairlawn Middle School, Instructor, Jennifer Adair

Colton Adair Jaxon Chang Anna Crooks Emma Elias Collin Fenderbosch Claire Hamilton Amy Hinderegger Joshua Hoover Ryan Ingersoll Robin Ingratta Kristopher King Nicholas King Gloria McGrath Rainy Martin Elise Owen Benjamin Rovnak Lucas Tielsen

The Lippman School, Instructor, Kristin Wilkof

Brennen Hostler Isabel Massouh

Our Lady of the Elms School, Instructor, Elaine Fippin

Gabina Amourgis Alexis McNamee Magnolia Myers Laura Sarafian Jameson Tan Ella Wilford

The Akron-Summit Council on Holocaust & Genocide Education is supported by the Summit County Executive's Office, the City of Akron, and donations from the community. To help continue Holocaust awareness and educate the youth in our community, donations can be made at **AkronSummitHolocaustEducation.org/donate**.