News Release

Ilene Shapiro – Summit County Executive FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE **Date: April 5, 2019**

Contact: Greta Johnson Assistant Chief of Staff Office of Executive Shapiro gjohnson@summitoh.net 330-643-2656

County of Summit Passes 2020 Census Awareness Resolution

On Monday, April 1, 2019, Summit County Executive Ilene Shapiro and Summit County Council passed a resolution raising public awareness of the 2020 Census and affirming the County of Summit's support for the Census. April 1 marked one year until Census Day 2020.

Census data are used to draw federal, state, and local legislative districts, distribute over \$675 billion annually in federal funds, forecast future transportation needs, plan for hospitals and nursing homes, and more. In 2020, residents will be able to respond online, by phone, or by mail, and online forms will be available in multiple languages.

"Nothing is more important to the next ten years of growth and development in Summit County than the 2020 Census," said Executive Shapiro. "We will need community-wide support in gathering an accurate census count. I encourage everyone to participate in the Census and to make sure your friends, family and neighbors know we are counting on them to participate as well."

Last year, the County and the City of Akron announced their Complete Count Committee (CCC) partnership for the 2020 Census. As members of a CCC, Summit County and the City of Akron will collaborate with other municipalities, various County and City entities and community leaders to help the U.S. Census Bureau get a complete count of Summit County.

The Complete Count Committee members are: County of Summit Executive Ilene Shapiro, City of Akron Mayor Dan Horrigan, Copley Township Trustee Helen Humphrys, Village of Lakemore Mayor Rick Justice, United Way of Summit County President and CEO Jim Mullen, Akron NAACP President Judi Hill, International Institute of Akron Executive Director Madhu Sharma, Fame Fathers CEO Pastor Eugene Norris, University of Akron Interim President Dr. John C. Green, Stark State College Akron Executive Director Don Mullen, Akron-Summit County Public Library Director Pamela Hickson-Stevenson, Akron Metropolitan Housing Authority Executive Director Brian Gage, Summit County Council Member David Hamilton, Summit County Council Member Elizabeth Walters, City of Akron President of Council Margo Sommerville, City of Akron Council At Large Vice President Jeff Fusco, Summit Education Initiative Executive Director Derran Wimer, Akron Public Schools Superintendent David James, Summa Health President and CEO Dr. Cliff Deveny, Akron Children's Hospital President and CEO Grace Wakulchik,



Cleveland Clinic Akron General President Dr. Brian Harte, Community Action Akron Summit President and CEO Malcolm Costa, METRO RTA Executive Director Dawn Distler, John S. Knight Center Assistant Director of Food Service Omar Banks, and Greater Akron Chamber President and CEO Steve Millard.

To learn more about the 2020 Census and Complete Count Committees, visit <u>https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/decennial-census/2020-census/complete_count.html</u>.

To apply for local U.S. Census Bureau employment opportunities, visit <u>www.census.gov/jobs</u>.

-END-