Bylaws of The Consolidated CAD Oversight Committee

The following Bylaws are hereby adopted this day of, 2018 by the
Consolidated CAD Oversight Committee, pursuant to Section 7 of the Intergovernmental
Agreement for the Acquisition, Installation and Operation of a Consolidated Computer Aided
Dispatch System by and between the County of Summit, the City of Akron, the City of
Cuyahoga Falls, the City of Fairlawn, the City of Green and the City of Stow.

Introduction

Whereas, on July 1, 2018 the County of Summit, the City of Akron, the city of Cuyahoga Falls, the City of Fairlawn, the City of Green and the City of Stow ("the Parties") entered into an Intergovernmental Agreement ("Agreement") for the acquisition, installation and operation of a consolidated computer aided dispatch system ("System") for their collective use in their Public Safety Answering Points ("PSAP"); and

Whereas, pursuant to that Agreement the Parties created the Consolidated CAD Oversight Committee ("Committee") for the purpose of overseeing the implementation, administration and ongoing operation of the System and established the membership of the Committee; and

Whereas, in order to carry out the purposes of the Committee it is necessary to establish bylaws;

NOW THEREFORE, the Committee adopts the following bylaws:

Section 1.

- 1.1 <u>Composition of the Committee.</u> The Committee shall consist of the chief elected official of each of the Parties, or that person's designee. By January first of each year, the primary member will notify the County through the System Administrator who that member's designee will be and providing contact information for the designee.
- 1.2 Officers. The Committee shall elect a Chairperson and a Vice Chairperson by simple majority vote. The Chairman shall schedule, cancel, and preside over all meetings. The Vice Chairperson will serve in the absence of the Chairperson. An employee of the County's Division of Public Safety shall serve as Secretary. The Secretary shall produce minutes in advance of the meeting for approval by the Chairperson. The Secretary shall also post all meeting notices and shall be responsible for all public records of the Committee. For public records purposes the Committee shall adhere to the records retention schedule of the County of Summit Law Department Division of Public Safety.

- 1.3 <u>Official Action</u>. Each Party (or designee) shall have one vote. Matters coming before the Committee requiring action by the committee shall be adopted by a quorum, which will consist of two thirds of the members of the Committee.
- 1.4 <u>Meetings are open to the public.</u> Meetings of the Committee shall occur at least quarterly and are public meetings. The Chairperson, upon scheduling a meeting, will direct the Secretary to post public notice of the meeting at the County's main office, located at 175 S. Main Street, Akron, Ohio 44308 on the first and fourth floors. Each of the Parties may also post a copy of the meeting notice at their respective main office locations, however for purposes of the Ohio Public Meetings Act (ORC sect. 121.22) the official meeting notice will be posted in the County offices. The notice shall contain the date, time and location of the meeting.
 - a. If the Committee determines that a special meeting is necessary the Secretary, at the Chairperson's direction, shall post a notice setting the time, place and location and the specific purpose(s) for which the meeting has been called. The County's office location shall still be the posting location for the official notice. Special meetings must also be open to the public.
 - 1.5 <u>Authority of the Committee</u>. The Committee shall have authority to act on all items set forth in sections 2.3, 3.3, 3.4, 4.2, 5.3(a) and (b), 6.2, 6.3, 7, 8, 9, and 10.
 - 1.6 <u>Adoption and Amendment of By-Laws</u>. These by-laws and any amendments thereto must be adopted by a two-thirds vote of all Parties. Amendments to the by-laws shall be proposed at a regular meeting prior to the meeting at which a vote on the amendment(s) shall occur.

Section 2. Establishment of subcommittees

2.1 The Committee shall have the authority to establish both standing and ad hoc subcommittees. Membership of any subcommittee may include any of the Parties as well as any representative of a community which becomes a Contracted Dispatch Community (those communities that have a contract with one of the Parties to receive dispatch services). Subcommittees shall have authority to make recommendations to the Committee.

Section 3. Subsequent Additional Users

3.1 Procedure for addition of Subsequent Additional Users. Upon notice to the Committee that an entity wishes to become a subsequent additional user of the System, as permitted by Section 8 of the Agreement, the Secretary shall provide notice of such to each of the Parties as well as the System Administrator as well as to the Clerk of County Council and of each of the Parties respective city councils. The Chairperson shall call a special meeting unless a vote on the entity's request to join the System as a Subsequent Additional User can be completed at a regularly scheduled meeting. A unanimous vote of all Parties is required to permit the addition of a Subsequent Additional User to the System. Upon acceptance of the Subsequent Additional User into the System, the Committee shall then adopt an allocation of system installation costs and recurring costs to be ascribed to the Subsequent Additional User. This allocation shall also require

a unanimous vote. The System Administrator shall prepare the allocation documentation in advance of the meeting. Subsequent Additional Users, upon completion of such votes, becomes a Party for purposes of the Committee.

Section 4. Miscellaneous

- 3.1 <u>Dispute Resolution.</u> Any dispute between the Parties and the WDB regarding any matters they are required to perform together shall be determined by discussion between the Chief Elected Officials and the Executive Committee of the WDB. In the event the parties cannot reach an agreement the decision of the SAMWA COG Board shall prevail.
- 3.2 These Bylaws amend and replace all previously adopted bylaws of the SAMWA COG.

End of text. Signatures appear on the next page.
In Witness Whereof, the members of the Board of the SAMWA COG have executed these Bylaws this day of, 2016.
Members of the Board of the SAMWA COG:
llene Shapiro, Summit County Executive
Summit County Representative to the SAMWA COG
Adam Friedrick, Medina County Commissioner
Medina County Representative to the SAMWA COG